Yoga; The 8 Limbs of Yoga. Samadhi

There are 8 limbs to a full Yoga practice. Each limb is a complete discipline and a life long journey of learning.

The 8 limbs are; Yama, Niyama, Ãsana, Prãnayãma, Pratyãhãra, Dhãrana, Dhyãna and Samadhi. In this article we’ll look at Samadhi.

Samadhi is often translated like Dhãrana as focus or concentration or like Dhyãna as contemplation and meditation.

Samadhi can also be translated sam-a-dha – to bring together.

It is the highest state of meditation where you experience oneness with the universe.

Many names have been give to this state from many traditions.

Enlightenment, Liberation, Nirvana, Moksha, self realisation to name a few.

Each limb of Yoga prepares you for the next one. The Dhyãna practice helps to free your mind, free your consciousness from your associated individual identity.

Then you enter into a Samadhi state. You are in a realm of non duality where everything is connected. There is no subject, no object, No realm, no form. You are are merged with universal oneness, consciousness.

Samadhi refers to a luminous, trance like, meditative state. It is said to be calm, joyful and yet aware. You maintain mental acuity, alertness, you are undisturbed by thoughts, emotions and sensations.

Samadhi is in many ways indescribable and must be experienced in order to be understood.

All 8 limbs of Yoga offer a lifelong path of learning and practice.

To have a full Yoga practice all 8 limbs will be incorporated into your life.

So what does Going to Yoga mean? Your Yoga is where you are, not just on the mat.

Food for thought…

For more articles click Blog or check out Events

For an appointment or to stay updated Contact me to join my mailing list!

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: