A Closer Look at the Chakras – Root Chakra

This is the first instalment in a series of seven articles looking at the Chakras.

We begin by a short overview and then looking at the Root Chakra.

Chakra means wheel in Sanskrit.

The Chakras refer to the energy centres in the body.

You have many thousands of them, there are 7 main energy centres in the body.

Energy flows through the Chakras, but when they are blocked or imbalanced, there is an effect on our emotional, mental and physical wellbeing, which can result in illness.

Here’s a closer look at the Root Chakra….

Chakra One: The Root Chakra – Mooladhara.


Element: Earth.

Physical identity, oriented to self-preservation.

Located at the base of the spine, between the anus and genitals.

The Root Chakra forms your foundation.

This Chakra represents the element earth, and is therefore related to your survival instincts, materialism, self defence.

It is connected to your sense of grounding and connection to the Earth, your body and the physical plane. 

This Chakra brings you health, prosperity, security, and dynamic presence. Family issues, feeling at home in body, place and planet.


Physical: Skeleton, bones, blood, cell structure,  spine, large intestine, teeth.

Glands: Adrenals.

Colour: Red.

Sense : Smell.

Scents: Cedar, Clove.

Crystals: Agate, Hematite, Garnet.

Bija Mantras/ Seed Sounds:  LAM.

Musical Note: C.

Earth Tone Dynamic 194.18 Hz.

This Chakra is associated with your ability to dig in and feel firmly rooted in life.

When the Mooladhara Chakra is working you are feel calm, steady, stable and are able to support yourself and others.

When the Mooladhara Chakra is unbalanced you can be depressed, anxious, lose or gain weight, have constipation or pelvic pain. You can feel distracted, unable to concentrate which can lead to exhaustion, stress and anxiety. A Root Chakra imbalance may also cause you to be lethargic, unable to make decisions, feeling stuck and unable to take action.

To balance the Mooladhara Chakra you should experience nature – watch a sunrise or sunset. Sit on the ground, can walk bare foot, walk on grass and connect with the Earth. Stomp! Stand with intention.

You can have a Reiki or Sound healing session to balance your Chakras.


Forms of Yoga that work primarily with the Root Chakra: Hatha Yoga, Kundalini Yoga. Some Yoga Poses* that involve The Root Chakra; Easy Pose*,Mountain Pose*, Child’s Pose*.

Pictured here; Mountain Pose*.


Please make sure the Yoga poses listed for each Chakra are appropriate for you. If you have any history of illness or injury, please be sure the postures are safe for you to do before you practice. Each posture has contraindications. Please ensure you are familiar with these before trying a pose. Some times the best course of action is not to do the pose. If you do decide to practice – do so mindfully and back out of the posture if it doesn’t feel right for you in any way.

It’s generally considered better to open the Chakras from the lower Chakras up. Starting with a solid foundation  and building up from there.

For more articles : holisticlife.ie/learn/

For Events

For an overview of the Chakras check out So what are Chakras anyway?

For an appointment or to stay updated Contact me to join my mailing list!

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: