A Closer Look at the Chakras – Heart Chakra

This is the fourth instalment in a series of seven articles looking at the Chakras.

Chakra four: Heart Chakra- Anahata Chakra.


Element: Air.

Social identity, oriented to self-acceptance.

Located in the centre of the chest.

This Chakra is called the Heart Chakra and is the middle Chakra in a system of seven. 

The Heart Chakra is related to love and is the integrator of opposites in the psyche: mind and body, male and female, persona and shadow, ego and unity.

Unconditional love, feeling, higher emotions beyond the mind like compassion. 

This Chakra allows you to love deeply, feel compassion and to have a deep sense of peace and centredness.


Physical: Heart, chest, lungs, coronary, vascular system.

Gland: Thymus.

Colour: Green / Pink Sense.

Sense: Touch.

Scents: Attar of Roses.

Crystals: Rose Quartz, Jade.

Bija Mantras/ Seed Sounds:  Yam

Musical Note: F.

Earth Tone 136.10 Hz.

When the Heart Chakra is working you feel joy, you have compassion and are able to connect with others. You radiate warmth, sincerity and happiness.

When the Heart Chakra is imbalanced you can have blood pressure issues, circulation problems, heart, lung issues. You can be co dependant, display manipulative behaviour, feel unworthy, unable to trust yourself or others. Tenderness and softness makes you feel embarrassed, you feel undeserving of affection and love, when rejected you are deeply hurt and withdraw sad and depressed.

To balance the Heart Chakra you can experience nature – a walk in a forest, the countryside. Look at pink skies. We can have a Reiki or Sound healing session.


Forms of Yoga that work primarily with the Heart Chakra: Bhakti Yoga.

Yoga Poses* that involve The Heart Chakra; Low or high Lunge*, Upward facing Dog*, Bridge Pose*.

Pictured here; Low lunge*.


Please make sure the Yoga poses listed for each Chakra are appropriate for you. If you have any history of illness or injury, please be sure the postures are safe for you to do before you practice. Each posture has contraindications. Please ensure you are familiar with these before trying a pose. Some times the best course of action is not to do the pose. If you do decide to practice – do so mindfully and back out of the posture if it doesn’t feel right for you in any way.

It’s generally considered better to open the Chakras from the lower Chakras up. Starting with a solid foundation  and building up from there.

For an overview of the Chakras check out So what are Chakras anyway?

For more Chakra and other articles : holisticlife.ie/learn/

For Events

For an appointment or to stay updated Contact me to join my mailing list!

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: